Skip to content

Great Scott! Brown Wins!

January 19, 2010

Yes, I used the Great Scott line again. Sorry, but I like it and I feel all clever and punny when I say it. I watched MSNBC tonight to follow along with the Coakley v. Brown election returns. Firstly, because I’m super nice — the things I do, so that you don’t have to. Secondly, because I knew it would be hilarious. Here’s a quick run-down as events unfolded (It’s like live-blogging, only on a taped delay. Just go with it):

My take so far on the Massachusetts Senate race. The good news: unfounded hubris no longer fools people. The bad news: I’m all about unwarranted arrogance, sigh.

Oh! Olbermann is totally pulling the tired, old You Are All Racists ™ angle and if Brown wins, that’s why. Thus, I am convinced Brown has, in fact, won. And won big.

Olbermann now saying that Brown’s pick-up truck was “code”. Hello? What happened to that whole “Post-Racial” deal? Did that mean “INVENT racism absolutely everywhere”? Also, Dear Olby: I drive a station wagon (shaddup). You know what that is “code” for? It’s code for “Olbermann stinks”.

Personal request: I really hope MSNBC shows when Rachel Maddow takes a weeping Keith Olbermann into her big, strong arms to console him.

It was actually pretty sad watching a pitiful, near tears Chris Matthews just now. Totally kidding. It was HE-LARIOUS.

Awesome. Maddow has Howard Dean on. Oh! Howard Dean just said: “People who blame others are losers.”

Wait… Did he just call Obama a loser? Yeeeaarggh!

Howard Dean also called himself a loser. Because right before he said “People who blame others are losers” — he blamed Bush. (P.S. Totally keep doing that, Democrats. It’s working out great! Thankies!)

SHOCKER: Rachel Maddow just divulged she also drives a truck. Never would have guessed! (Not that there’s anything wrong with that)

9:20 P.M. COAKLEY CONCEDES!

Maddow is totally crying! For reals! I’d feel sorta badly, if she wasn’t such a huge douche and all. Instead, I giggle madly! Okay, that’s a lie. I giggle-snorted. Yes, I actually snorted with mirth.

A Republican Senator. In MASSACHUSETTS. Now THAT is change that I CAN believe in.

Congratulations Senator Scott Brown. Thank you for the hope. The real kind.

Dear Democrats and Obama: VA, NJ and now MASSACHUSETTS. Um, face it. We really just aren’t that into you.

Okay, there is a look into what I do on election nights. Only, you know, sitting on my couch and saying the stuff out loud. I’m very glad my cockiness yesterday was not unfounded. And thank you, Massachusetts, for finally breaking out of your mass hypnosis!

P.S. Dude, everyone on MSNBC looks like John Kerry tonight. You know, because of the super long mope faces and all.

P.P..S. I love you, Senator-Elect Scott Brown. That is all.

P.P.P.S.  Scott Brown’s victory speech: Huh. Brown doesn’t seem to be reading directly from a teleprompter. And is speaking really, really well. No “uh uh ums” — Weird!

P.P.P.P.S. “I’m Scott Brown. I’m from Wrentham. And I drive a truck”: — I’m Lori. I’m from Greenville. And I totally heart you.

Another P.S., sigh: I wish MSNBC would extend its coverage tonight and do a live web cam feed of Maddow in her dressing room, scrawling in her “manifesto” and listening to “Everybody Hurts” on a loop.

(cross-posted at iowntheworld.com)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Pow permalink
    January 20, 2010 2:32 pm

    Great post. I wish I was “live” last night to see it…Can’t add anything except what I said last night “Wooooooooooooooo!”

    I said to someone “for the first time in my adult life I’m proud of my state” thinking I was all clever & shit. Then I saw it all over FB when I got home.

    I put on MessNBC when I got home. Hahahahahahahahahahaha. That guy Maddow is a riot.

    • Lori Ziganto permalink*
      January 20, 2010 5:50 pm

      MSNBC was hilarious, truly. And, Pow … THANK YOU. You did good, kiddo! I mean “wicked good”😀

  2. kev permalink
    January 20, 2010 4:52 pm

    The first time I saw Matthews last night, I thought for a moment that Chris Hansen was reading his chat logs back to him, that’s how pathetic he looked.

  3. Eric Sanborn permalink
    January 20, 2010 5:35 pm

    Great theatre! Thx Massachusetts!!

    Funny post.

    As mentioned in my personal missive to the high priestess of this blog…..found this blog after googling, “Dems blame Coakley”.

    • Lori Ziganto permalink*
      January 20, 2010 5:51 pm

      Thank you, Eric🙂 Again, truly very much appreciated.

  4. January 20, 2010 7:15 pm

    Terrific post. Lori! Love your site.
    Still a bit in shock that the folks in Massachusetts did the right thing. Made the mistake of listening to Dean garble on about what they did right/wrong and trying to spin things on the fly. Didn’t sound much more coherent than when he “yelped!” when he was campaigning.
    Must agree with “Pow”, that guy Maddox runs a good show.

Trackbacks

  1. Scott Brown Truck - Nardu
  2. Obama Scott Brown Truck
  3. Obama Scott Brown Truck - Nardu
  4. Liberal Reaction to Brown Win: Schadenfreude-Licious! « Snark And Boobs

Leave a Reply

