Skip to content

Part of a Piece of Work in Progress Completed!

January 11, 2010

Dan Collins, of a Piece of Work in Progress, just released his long-awaited book, “Was It Something I Said?”

I can tell you that, if Dan said it, it is made of awesome. The book is a collection of a lot of his work, including stuff from “back in the day” when the blogosphere wasn’t so fancy pants.  Dan is a master of parody and it’s great to have a collection of them in one volume. From Dan himself:

Most of the volume consists of parodies of one sort or another, though there are serious pieces, as well. Where I thought it would be helpful, I’ve included notes about the background. There are some of you who will be getting comped copies, because of donations already received, but since I am poor, I will have to wait to send those out of sales.

It has been argued that the vast majority of this stuff is on teh intarwebs for free, and that’s true, though I’ve made edits here and there. My only excuse for offering the book is that it may amuse, and that it may even help me pay a few bills, but to the loyal reader, I thank you for all your indulgences already received.

If you are a lover of the blogosphere, of politics or of the written word, you will enjoy this book. Dan, who is also one of the brightest bloggers around, truly knows how to put purty words in purty order. And I’m not just saying that because he’s also a very kind, generous man; he was one of the first new friends that I made on The Twitter and one of the very first to link to one of my little bloggity posts.

Remember, we on the right aren’t funded like many of those on the left. Most bloggers not only earn very little, if anything at all, but often they lose money as they pay for hosting and other expenses out of their own pockets and they expend a TON of human capital and time. It’s nice when we can give back to someone who has given us so much over the years. And be thoroughly amused in the process! It’s a win-win for all.

You can buy the book here.

(cross-posted at iowntheworld.com)

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

