Skip to content

A Tale of One City

January 6, 2010

What was once the best of times, is now the worst of times. This is what decades of liberal control and Nanny State policies can do to a major United States city.

It’s like a bad, incredibly sad, movie. Only it’s true.

See the Photo Essay “The Ruins of Detroit” here.

The photo essay made me cry — I’m such a girl, I know. It even left me slightly speechless (you’re welcome, heh). Plus, I figure the pictures speak for themselves. Sometimes, a picture really is worth a thousand words.

(h/t _DPunch’s twitter feed)

crossposted at iowntheworld.com

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2010 8:19 pm

    Hey cool. Thanks for the h/t! I’m smearing apple butter all over my chest right now.

  2. BuckwheatsayHI permalink
    January 8, 2010 2:25 am

    Good God, soon it will look like Chernobyl. Or the Forbidden Zone. This is truly sad. Right here in the U.S. Rod Serling only dreamed that such things could happen…

    • Lori Ziganto permalink*
      January 8, 2010 2:27 am

      I’ve looked at it a half a dozen times now.

      And cried every time.

      It also makes me SO angry.

  3. BuckwheatsayHI permalink
    January 8, 2010 2:48 am

    What does it say about a society when people don’t even care to bury their dead buildings? I’d love to read the forthcoming book, some 200 pages it says.
    I hope it will shake the country to its core—but I fear it won’t.
    This has happened many times before, you know. I have this overwhelming pity for the country. It’s like the car has gone into a skid and you see lights coming up fast. What can you do?

  4. January 16, 2010 1:19 pm

    The best that hollywood can muster could not create a convincing scene of complete devastation that Detroit has become. Between Detroit and Flint, it seems that Michigan has pretty much been written off.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention A Tale of One City « Snark And Boobs -- Topsy.com
  2. uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

