Skip to content

Hot Air’s Obamateurism of the Year: Obama’s Fort Hood Shout-Out

January 2, 2010

Ed Morrissey over at Hot Air has a running series on Obamateurisms of the Day, wherein he highlights, well, Obama and his amateur-iness (I’m making that a word in 2010).  Hot Air commenters picked what they thought was the Obamateurism of the year. While the choice threw me a bit at first, I now think it’s a great choice. It actually highlights just how amateur and immature Obama truly is. He really just does not “get it”. Ever.

This was a prime example of incompetence and ineptitude at its best — or worst, really. It also displayed, once again, Obama’s constant need to make everything all about him and his buddies:

Let’s not forget the readers, who made what I think was a surprising but excellent choice in selecting the Presidential Shout-Out after a terrorist attack that killed 14 people at Fort Hood as the Obamateurism of the Year.

In case it has slipped from memory, Barack Obama called a press conference to react to the massacre by Army Major Nidal Hasan, who turned out to have connections to al-Qaeda and a suspected operational member of the 9/11 conspiracy, Anwar al-Awlaki. As a nation watched to see its President take charge in a crisis, Obama appeared to act as though the big issue of his address was the people in the audience:

THE PRESIDENT: Please, everybody have a seat. Let me first of all just thank Ken and the entire Department of the Interior staff for organizing just an extraordinary conference. I want to thank my Cabinet members and senior administration officials who participated today. I hear that Dr. Joe Medicine Crow was around, and so I want to give a shout-out to that Congressional Medal of Honor winner. It’s good to see you. (Applause.)

My understanding is, is that you had an extremely productive conference. I want to thank all of you for coming and for your efforts, and I want to give you my solemn guarantee that this is not the end of a process but a beginning of a process, and that we are going to follow up. (Applause.) We are going to follow up. Every single member of my team understands that this is a top priority for us. I want you to know that, as I said this morning, this is not something that we just give lip service to. And we are going to keep on working with you to make sure that the first Americans get the best possible chances in life in a way that’s consistent with your extraordinary traditions and culture and values.

Now, I have to say, though, that beyond that, I plan to make some broader remarks about the challenges that lay ahead for Native Americans, as well as collaboration with our administration, but as some of you might have heard, there has been a tragic shooting at the Fort Hood Army base in Texas.



It was almost an afterthought! “Oh, yeah, uhh, some people got shot and stuff.” I guess it’s not as super sexy as insulation (another Obamateurism that should make the list)

I’m curious to know what y’all think? What would you have chosen as the Obamateurism of 2009?

(cross-posted at iowntheworld.com)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

