Skip to content

Mackenzie Phillips Gives New, Grossly Disturbing Meaning to the Term ‘Daddy’s Girl’

September 24, 2009

californiareamin

One Dad At A Time. I think.  I can’t really confirm, as I haven’t read the book nor did I watch the Oprah special due to a self-imposed ban.  I will never forgive her for President Obama-prah.

However… for Schadenfreude purposes I may have to lift that ban for one day. You see, the MacKenzie Phillips interview is a 2 part, Very Special Episode,  so I may watch tomorrow.  I’ll update if it turns out she also slammed some step-Dads or something.  This is what I’ve learned so far:

It’s the dark secret she’s kept for decades, a secret shame finally revealed.

Former child star Mackenzie Phillips claims in a new explosive tell-all book that she had an incestuous affair with her father, John Phillips, leader of the famed ’60s pop group the Mamas and the Papas – a long-term relationship that grew to be consensual.

In “High on Arrival,” out Wednesday, Phillips describes emerging from a blackout to find herself engaging in intercourse with her dad – on the night before her wedding, People.com reports.

“On the eve of my wedding, my father showed up, determined to stop it,” she writes.

“I had tons of pills, and Dad had tons of everything, too. Eventually I passed out on Dad’s bed.”

“My father was not a man with boundaries. He was full of love, and he was sick with drugs. I woke up that night from a blackout to find myself having sex with my own father.

Afterward, she entered rehab – with her dad, People reports. As Mackenzie struggled with her addiction, the affair with her father ultimately became consensual.

“I was a fragment of a person, and my secret isolated me,” she writes in the new book, according to People.

“One night, Dad said, ‘We could just run away to a country where no one would look down on us. There are countries where this is an accepted practice. Maybe Fiji.’ “He was completely delusional. ‘No,’ I thought, ‘we’re going to hell for this.’ “

Well, that explains it. Everyone has heard of the old “the family that rehabs together, breeds together!”

Huh.  I wonder how many times John Phillips and the other Mamas and Papas (no word yet if they also had “Daddy Issues”)  in their oh- so- tolerant hippie haze mocked inbred rednecks in the South?

Ah, the Summer of Love generation.  I suppose “incestual” will now need to be added parenthetically before “Love”.  I knew they drank electric kool-aid, but I didn’t know about the Electra Kool-aid!

At first, I thought to myself why the heck would she not only admit it, but publicize it? Then, I realized, um, SHE SLEPT WITH HER DAD. She ain’t right in the head.

Bless her heart. (that’s dumb redneck talk, for all you fancy smarty-pants Hollywood types.  Hey, at least we keep our dirty laundry private. And the laundry isn’t dirty from, you know, having sex with our Dads!)

(Cross-posted at iOwnTheWorld.com. Art Courtesy of BigFurHat at iOwnTheWorld.com)

21 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2009 2:09 am

    So let me get this straight. He showed up to stop his daughter’s wedding, and then ended up nailing the daughter whose wedding he was trying to stop. Was he afraid she’d end up with some sleaze-bag?

    • snarkandboobs permalink*
      September 24, 2009 2:22 am

      Heh heh. Yup. Because he was “full of love” and all. Had to make sure his daughter didn’t hook up with, you know, some sort of sexual predator!

  2. BigFurHat permalink
    September 24, 2009 2:57 am

    Standing up at the wedding and saying “I object” would have been totally awkward and embarrassing for Mackenzie.

    • snarkandboobs permalink*
      September 24, 2009 2:06 pm

      Yeah, man. What do you think he was, some kind of monster?! He didn’t want to humiliate his daughter like that!

  3. Wsorrian permalink
    September 24, 2009 5:18 am

    Here’s the thing. A decade ago I would have absolutely shocked and disgusted with this. But as I have come to learn more and more about hippie liberals through actually meeting them, this doesn’t seem all that shocking. It’s just par for the course with the drugged-out nutbags. Filthy hippies….

    That youtube video I linked in the other thread seems even more relevant now.

    • snarkandboobs permalink*
      September 24, 2009 2:07 pm

      Unfortunately, I noticed that too. I mean, I was totally repulsed but I was shockingly un-shocked, heh.

      That’s sad.

  4. onemansbeliefs permalink
    September 24, 2009 7:19 am

    He was famous and had lots of money, but he couldn’t sleep with the prettier sister on “One Day at a Time?” Just a thought…

  5. Reiuxcat permalink
    September 24, 2009 9:05 am

    I guess she’s to thin to make a Jenny Craig spokesperson. However, she has just proven you can go lower after you hit bottom. Sadly, I expect a TV movie on WE or Lifetime in the future. 😦

    • snarkandboobs permalink*
      September 24, 2009 2:08 pm

      I was thinking Oxygen. It’s an Oprah-y thing.

      • Reiuxcat permalink
        September 24, 2009 2:14 pm

        Yeah, all that would come to my head was O for Oprah station. Must be a lack of Oxygen afterall. 😛

    • September 24, 2009 2:13 pm

      When you hit rock bottom, I guess there’s always a shovel to go a little bit deeper. (No pun intended, ewww)

  6. September 24, 2009 2:01 pm

    @one man
    I think he would have slept with Schnieder.

    • Reiuxcat permalink
      September 24, 2009 2:15 pm

      Who says he didn’t? Guess we’ll have to wait on that book now.

  7. September 24, 2009 3:48 pm

    I wonder?? Did they have music playing in the background??😕

    ‘This is dedicated to the one I love’ maybe??😛

    I never knew they were hillbillies, I thought they were just nasty hippies… Shows what I know huh??

    • Reiuxcat permalink
      September 24, 2009 6:15 pm

      @ TexasFred, Imagine if he’d been raised on a farm. Would he have kept the inside of his pants legs tucked in his boots? And would PETA have protested him?

  8. September 25, 2009 9:33 pm

    Oh, this is too awful for words, let alone poems.

    Let us try to capture the insanity, without barfing: Can this be done?

    There once was a sing-songy dad
    Who was not only naughty but bad
    And we stand and we gape
    yet we’re told ’twas no rape,
    although it was his daughter he had.

    • snarkandboobs permalink*
      September 26, 2009 12:06 am

      For.

      The.

      Win!

      I really need to practice my poetry. Sometimes, it really just fits. This is one of those times. Well done!

  9. September 25, 2009 9:34 pm

    last word should be “though” not “although”….

  10. Reiuxcat permalink
    September 30, 2009 12:21 pm

    So here’s the results of the book MACKENZIE PHILLIPS MEDIA BLITZ, SELLS 19,389 COPIES.

    Maybe there is hope (no, not the O kind) yet.

  11. anitaut permalink
    May 5, 2011 7:38 pm

    I’m restored here. Honest looking to associate with some like minded people.

Leave a Reply

