Skip to content

Know What Integrity Gets You in the World of HopeandChange (tm thingie)? Fired.

June 5, 2009

Tommy Christopher, formerly of AOL News, Politics Daily, was fired for writing an article disavowing the repugnant Playboy.com’s “HateF*** List” of Conservative women. The article was pulled, inexplicably, by AOL and subsequently moved to Mr. Christopher’s Daily Dose site.

He followed up with his own list of Conservative Women I love to Love, which I am including at the risk of seeming to blow smoke up my own arse, only to showcase the integrity Mr. Christopher displayed in this instance for those of you who may not follow his writings.

He is probably as bleeding heart Liberal as one can get, yet I’ve always found him to be fairly rational and willing to at least see the other side of an argument. He displayed such character in this instance, taking the side of what was right, regardless of political affiliation.

Newsbusters has the full story here. Please read it and judge for yourself. As for me, I’d like AOL to address this issue…was he fired for *gasp* standing up for Conservatives women? Or was he fired because AOL has a buddy-buddy relationship with Playboy? I know I’m no expert, but silly little I always thought that the job of a news organization was to report..um..the news? There should be no “conflict of interest” in the TRUTH, no? Though, should we really be surprised? AOL is owned by Time Warner, of Ted Turner fame.

Whichever scenario is THE reason behind the firing, it is quite clear that the powers-that-be at AOL do not have anywhere near the integrity, honesty or ethics displayed by Tommy Christopher.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2009 3:37 am

    Well, if you follow one of the automatic links in this article back to its source it turns out that Tommmy X wrote some pretty nasty stuff about Republican women himself. If that’s how he was brought in to AOL, as a reliable creator of slime to be thrown against Republicans, then no wonder the slimers at AOL got rid of him when he developed a conscience.

    • June 5, 2009 6:12 am

      Beagle,

      it figures THAT’s the link they’d generate. If you read the story, I was quoting the father of a special needs child. The author of this post is a PUMA with an axe to grind. I did a lot of reporting on them, and even ruined their Denver party, unintentionally.

      I re-read the story just now, and I stand by it. The headline is another matter, something I agonized over at the time. I went with it because I felt this guy deserved a voice. I might not have used that headline today.

      Also worth noting is that I originally included info on Palin’s budget that cable news stations ran with, but when I got new info discrediting it, promptly corrected the story. As far as I know, nobody else did.

  2. June 5, 2009 3:47 am

    Well said, Thou Who Hath Been Blessed With Both An Ample Rack And An Endless Supply Of Snark. The treatment Tommy received from AOL is disgraceful. I’m sure they will regret their error given his position as a respected journalist who is liked by those across the political spectrum.

  3. sauer kraut permalink
    June 5, 2009 9:42 pm

    Tommy Christopher was one of the few to even bother covering the real story of and behind Sarah Palin. The rest of the news crew was too busy oogling her boobs.

    AOL needs to be taken to task when the whining of an advertiser ranks above the well-written commentary of someone like Christopher. I don’t agree with everything he’s ever written but he’s one of the reasons I even bothered with that section of AOL. And this from a 15+ year subscriber to AOL. Yeah, I know. That makes me about as stupid as any stupid person can get.

Leave a Reply

