Skip to content

Pirates Shmirates; They are Just a Distraction!

April 11, 2009

A distraction……and an annoying one, to boot (or booty) at least according to Reuters, whose headline reads Pirates Pose Annoying Distraction for Obama

WASHINGTON, April 9 (Reuters) – Ragtag teams of modern-day Blackbeards are posing an annoying distraction for Barack Obama, forcing him to add Somalia to an already long list of foreign policy challenges…..

Um, pardon me, but I’m pretty sure that the Constitution does not mention a thing about the President becoming the “de facto” head of GM or a mortgage holder for The People, but it DOES say he is the fecking Commander in Chief . I kinda think President Obama, being a Constitutional Law Professor and all, should have known that before he campaigned so hard for the job.

(by the way, as a renter, I’m still waiting for MY Mortgage. Thanks!)

I’m so sorry that the most important job of the President, as delineated by the Constitution (that old thing! I know, I know…looking to the Constitution for guidance makes me a right-wing nut job. That’s just how I roll), cuts into his stand-up comedy routines, his Press tours and his oh so important Pizza Night.

I also wonder how the Captain’s family feels, knowing that their loved one is just a distraction? And that the stealing of other people’s money to pay for someone else’s mortgage (“Guys, we are talking about housing right now“!) is more important and pressing than their loved one’s LIFE.

To be fair, I suppose it would be hard to chastise the pirates, as that would deflect from the true evil: Corporate America. I’m sure President Obama’s “delicate negotiations” will include apologies for the greed and arrogance of the American crew, unwilling to share their booty and for our utter gall in flaunting all our goods, without bringing enough to share with the class.

P.S. The Mark Steyn, brilliant as ever, gives spot-on analysis regarding the whole “Pirate” situation and President Obama’s leadership (term used loosely). At least I think it is; it has to do with history and foreign policy and such and I’m just an uneducated Republican from the South. Worse, a female one!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. DomesticDame permalink
    April 12, 2009 3:54 am

    How DARE these pirates just bother Obama with their demands, & worse yet, hold an American hostage.

    This just shows how Obama isn't ready for this presidency. As of now, he has done nothing; perhaps, he doesn't know what to do? He's too busy screwing the American people out of their liberties to 'bother' with the pirates & their hostage.

  2. Dede permalink
    April 12, 2009 4:00 am

    Ol’ President Doofus (can you tell that’s my new name for him) doesn’t get it, he’s never going to get, unfortunately I’m afraid Americans are going to pay for his lack of……everything with their lives.

    Oh and P.S. I love you.

  3. Lori_Z permalink
    April 12, 2009 4:18 am

    DomesticDame Precisely! He quite clearly has not the first clue how to lead..or how to actually DO anything. He is NOT smart and I’m so tired of everyone prefacing any criticism with “he’s a very smart man..but”. I for one don’t see much evidence of his alleged brilliance; he is utterly baffled and completely shocked that the entire World doesn’t simply love him and wanna hold hands. Dangerously naive and arrogant man.

  4. The Political Pundito permalink
    April 12, 2009 4:32 am

    Well done, Lori. I’m going to start writing “for a Snarky time call Lori Z” in every restroom I “visit”😛

  5. Lori_Z permalink
    April 12, 2009 4:41 am

    Excellent, Pundito! Because look how I normally spend a Saturday night…

    Sigh. Eh, it’s for the best. I’m not really a people person (shocking, I know)😀

  6. ManBearPig permalink
    April 12, 2009 6:23 am

    Z-Diddy at her Diddiest….

    well done…

  7. Lori_Z permalink
    April 12, 2009 5:47 pm

    *giggling madly at “diddiest”*

    Thank you!

  8. Pow permalink
    April 13, 2009 3:11 am

    A “distraction.” And Shrillary cackling like a hyena after she said “scourge of pirates.” Biden having memories of conversations that never hapened. (didn’t he see the movie Harvey? Jimmy Stewart got locked up in an asylum for talking to a 6 ft rabbit) These assclowns just keep geting worse, which I actually didn’t think would be possible. It’s like Confederacy Of Dunces or something.

    Excellent blog Lori.

    My verification word was ironically kings.

  9. jenniferwaite permalink
    April 13, 2009 5:11 am

    Thank God everything turned out ok thanks to our Navy Seals. I admit I don’t know much about the somali “pirate” industry, but hasn’t this been happening to private companies the last few years (100 million in ransom paid) I think we should have seen this coming.

Leave a Reply

