Skip to content

To President Bush, With Love

January 20, 2009

There is much about the spectacle today that made me angry, disgusted, embarrassed, sometimes amused but I can’t even wrap my brain (or what passes for some semblance of a brain) around it all right now. I, instead, can only focus on the depth of my gratitude to President George W. Bush.

I wish I could have been there to bid him farewell as he boarded Air Force One for the last time. Since I could not, I have to make do with my own personal tribute in words.

Dear Sir…..you never wavered. You never balked. In the face of circumstances far beyond any that any other man holding your office has ever faced……you stood firm. In the face of constant criticism, vitriolic criticism a lot of the time from the very same people who are now in the throes of frenzied, mindless euphoria over a man who has no real accomplishments of which to speak, you still remained ever vigilant.

I may not have agreed with you always…..you may, in fact, have been wrong sometimes; History will be the judge of that. But of one thing I am most certain….You always, always did what you thought was right for our Country. And you kept us safe. For over 7 years, you and your steadfast protection has kept our soil free from attack. I thank you, from the bottom of my heart, for keeping my daughter safe from people who would not hesitate to kill her for having the temerity to be born a female.

We all seem to have forgotten what it was like on September 11, 2001 and the days that followed shortly thereafter. You never did. You didn’t have that luxury. I can’t fathom the strength of character that one must have to endure that each and every day.

You are a true rare gem in politics these days….a real leader, a real man, who acts solely on his convictions regarding what is best for his Country and not what is politically expedient. In fact, you hurt yourself politically, for the sake of our Country and, truly, for all of us. You didn’t rely on empty platitudes, on “feel good” rhetoric. You made the hard choices…..you took action. You led. You did.

For that, among other things……your humanity, your quiet, yet deep compassion, your faith, both in God and in humanity, your honest, good nature….you will always have my utmost respect and all the best wishes in the World.

I wish you all the best, Sir.

With Love, most deeply heartfelt gratitude and Sincerity.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. republicandy. permalink
    January 21, 2009 6:35 pm

    Well done, Lori…. Bush carried burdens that only a handful of Presidents have had to carry, and did it without complaint.

    While I disagreed with Bush on many issues — usually that he wasn’t conservative *enough* — I never once thought he did anything for selfish reasons or with motives other than what was best for the country.

    The disgusting reception accorded to him by some of the crowd at Obama’s inauguration was a microcosm of what he had to endure throughout his Presidency… thoughtless, classless, knee-jerk opposition.

    I hope Obama has, or can find, the kind of strength that Bush has.

  2. Xian Do permalink
    January 22, 2009 1:10 am

    I sincerely hope that you are the person chosen to pen Bush’s legacy in the official History Book of America.
    Nice Job, Lori!

  3. Lori_Z permalink
    January 23, 2009 2:48 am

    The disgusting reception accorded to him by some of the crowd at Obama’s inauguration was a microcosm of what he had to endure throughout his Presidency… thoughtless, classless, knee-jerk opposition.

    Precisely. Oh, that really made me ill to see. Just vile behavior and vastly unwarranted to boot.

    Xian, you are the sweetest ever! (are you drunk? Feverish? hee hee). Thank you so much for the amazingly kind words🙂

  4. May 6, 2009 5:43 pm

    A hearty, belated AMEN!

    God bless you,

    Greg

  5. snarkandboobs permalink*
    May 7, 2009 3:33 am

    Same to you, Greg! And thank you.

Leave a Reply

