Skip to content

The Price of Freedom Isn’t Free

July 4, 2007

An Independence Day tribute called “This Is For The Soldiers” (background info here) from the amazing 15 year old Lizzie Palmer, creator of the “Remember Me” Video.

As we all enjoy our Independence Day parades and fireworks shows (or fireworks in your own backyard here in South Carolina), please remember the men and women sacrificing for our continued freedom. The video should also serve to remind why Kevin Godlington started this site; to aid those who fight for peace, who sacrifice for the freedom of others and who often give up their lives or limbs or mental health.

Now, as I don’t like to preach (vent and opine, yes; sermonize, no) and as I am quite literally blubbering like an infant after watching the video (and re-watching Remember Me), I will do what I can to stop myself from spiralling down into a mind-numbing depression at the thought of the brave souls in the Coalition forces giving up everything for countless unknown strangers …….I’ll have a wee drink and good cry. Then I’ll paypal some money over to The Charitable Demon. I only wish it could be more. Though, I could never ever repay all that these brave men and women have given me.

I wish all my fellow Americans a wonderful Independence Day (Or July 4th, if you prefer). I also wish our British friends a Happy “We’re rid of those pesky Yanks” Day. Turned out for the best, no? Y’all instead gained a loyal friend and a fierce ally, as we did in you.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Princess of Rhinn permalink
    July 6, 2007 6:05 pm

    As someone who just lost a family member who had a long and proud history with the military to suicide – I want to thank you and others for calling attention to the growing problem.

  2. Lori_Z permalink
    July 6, 2007 11:25 pm

    Princess of Rhinn,

    I am sincerely sorry for your loss. And deeply saddened to hear of the loss of another brave soul.

    My debt of gratitude to him and his brothers and sisters can never be properly repaid.

  3. Rodrigo permalink
    July 7, 2007 5:58 pm

    Oi, achei teu blog pelo google tá bem interessante gostei desse post. Quando der dá uma passada pelo meu blog, é sobre camisetas personalizadas, mostra passo a passo como criar uma camiseta personalizada bem maneira. Se você quiser linkar meu blog no seu eu ficaria agradecido, até mais e sucesso. (If you speak English can see the version in English of the Camiseta Personalizada. If he will be possible add my blog in your blogroll I thankful, bye friend).

Leave a Reply

