Skip to content

Keep DEA Out of Health Care.

April 9, 2007

Bear with me here, please. First attempt, which is hindered further by the fact that I’ve been out of the “real” world & home with a toddler (now 4 years old) for the past 3 years, resulting in a tendency towards scatter-brained rambling.

Thanks to Kevin for the diversion from the mind-numbing exploits of Dora the Explorer et al., which also serves to slow the pace of my turning into some loon screeching in outrage at Wolf Blitzer or Bill O’Reilly on the TV screen as if they can hear me. For now, I can vent my outrage at y’all instead (moved to SC 2 years ago and still trying to master the use of y’all vs all y’all. Indulge me, please.)

Now, to the point of my rambling, my most recent peeve is the utterly ridiculous DEA raids on medical marijuana clinics. One such raid is described in this article located here.

The dispensary has been operating in the city through a business license for about a year. Voter-approved state law allows medical marijuana but conflicts with a federal law that restricts pot. Federal authorities can make arrests and file charges for selling the drug.

State rights be damned! The DEA will charge in to the rescue! While I am personally not a huge fan of pot (My short-term memory loss is bad enough plus I am vain and terrified of getting the munchies), I am awfully tired of Nannies getting their knickers in a knot over Grandma lighting up a little doobie or eating a “cookie” to help her cataracts. Or a chemo patient, who is having a hard enough time just surviving and is looking for some slight relief of his or her pain and nausea.

I say “Smoke ’em if you’ve got ’em”, Grandma. Who knows, maybe toking up will also help her relate more to her grandchildren and isn’t that a good thing? Anything for the children, right?

The butting in by the DEA also serves to strengthen my absolute horror at even the hint of nationalized health care. Can you imagine putting the Nannies in charge of ALL your health care? Of either party? But that’s another rant, along with smoking bans, lack of school choice, people who confuse the right to bear arms with “but you can still hunt”, John Edwards and Sanjaya. Not necessarily in that order.

Lori

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    April 9, 2007 7:27 pm

    Could not agree more. Right lets all get stoned.

    Kevin.

  2. Lori_Z permalink
    April 9, 2007 8:38 pm

    For some odd reason, it just knocks me out cold. That could be due to the fact that every time I’ve ever tried to ‘indulge”, I was already 6 sheets to the wind with beer consumption.

    But I don’t project my choices (or character flaws, whichever you prefer) onto others. So, y’all feel free to go right ahead and I will watch, point and laugh at you😉

Leave a Reply

