Skip to content

New York Times Teaches You How to Buy Separate (but equal) Gifts!

December 10, 2009

(originally posted at iowntheworld.com)

Good news! The New York Times, being so much Smarter Than Us, has come out with a gift buying guide to instruct us on how to be Post-Racial and buy separate, but equal, gifts for our friends.  What a way to embrace diversity!

I would have never realized that my non-whitey, non-cracker friends are actually strange, different creatures who obviously couldn’t possibly like the same things that I like. Apparently, their gift preferences are based solely on their oh-so-mystical skin colors! Thankfully, the New York Times is there to save the day and to save me from the embarrassment of handing out the “wrong kind” of cookies. Glynnis MacNicol, of Mediaite asks the following:

What I would like to know is who thought this was a good idea? In this year’s NYT’s Annual Holiday Gift Guide there is a section devoted to “Of Color | Stylish Gifts.” From the intro to the section.

Somali fashion, do-it-yourself henna kits, children’s books that draw inspiration from the lives of Barack Obama and Sonia Sotomayor: it’s not hard to find gifts created for and by people of color this holiday season. Here are some possibilities.

I had to read that twice. Because really New York Times? NYTPicker, who was the first to note the addition thinks there’s no other word for it but racist. I’m not sure I’m willing to go that far. But badly, terribly thought out, bordering on offensive, absolutely.

Well, unlike MacNichol, I would go that far: it IS racist. The real kind, not the Harry Reid made-up kind. It’s also a very thinly veiled attempt at foisting Obama into the mix of absolutely everything. Dudes, we are tired of him. Even people who like him are sick of his big mug everywhere. Oh! Mugs! Is there a “special” kind I should buy for my black friends? What about my Hispanic ones? Or my gay friends? And here I thought the only thing that I shouldn’t ever give anyone is a fruitcake. Well, except for the neighbor who I don’t like down the street.

According to this guide, the only thing I should see about my non-white friends is their color — and that is all they should see as well. Every suggested gift has “mocha” or “black” in the title, as if people define themselves, and their tastes, by their skin pigment density alone. Once again, it is the left who sees only color. It is the left who insists on putting people in little boxes and keeping them separated – and NOT equal.

Sorry, New York Times, but most people who live outside Ivory Towers (racist!) define themselves simply:

As people.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers

