Skip to content

Hey, I *heart* the NHS Women: Do You Love This?

August 18, 2009

I’ve mentioned many times that amongst the myriad of reasons why I do NOT want “Universal” (Socialized) Health Care, and why I thought all women should not, is because:

a) I don’t trust the Government with a Speculum
b) I don’t want a bureaucrat deciding if my epidural is really “cost-effectively necessary”

While the above were said somewhat tongue in cheek, I suppose I now should move my tongue out of my cheek (maybe place it in front of my tonsils to guard them!) as if the following can happen, so could denial of epidurals. And, you know, actual life-saving procedures.

Woman gives birth on pavement ‘after being refused ambulance’

By Daily Mail Reporter
Last updated at 9:56 PM on 17th August 2009

A young mother gave birth on a pavement outside a hospital after she was told to make her own way there.

Mother-of-three Carmen Blake called her midwife to ask for an ambulance when she went into labour unexpectedly with her fourth child.

But the 27-year-old claims she was refused an ambulance and told to walk the 100m from her house in Leicester to the city’s nearby Royal Infirmary. [snip]
‘They said they were not sending an ambulance and told me I had had nine months to sort out a lift.’

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1207151/Woman-gives-birth-pavement-refused-ambulance.html#ixzz0OZO34aMb

Read full article here.

Yeah, um… no thanks! Bad enough we are now supposed to let the fathers of the babies watch the delivery, I refuse to put on a (traumatic) show for the entire neighborhood.

‘They said they were not sending an ambulance and told me I had had nine months to sort out a lift.’

It’s a funny thing, that … babies actually don’t come at a set date and time! They arrive on their own accord, with no rhyme or reason. I’m sure Dr. Obama will fix that, though… NO BABIES BORN, unless between the hours of 9 and 5 and only if you’ve arranged a ride. That’s probably how it should be, but nefarious doctors have fiddled with women’s bodies to make babies come at odd hours so they can make more cash money. I’m just surprised that any babies at all leave the hospital with their tonsils and limbs intact!

Worse; read the entire article and you’ll learn that the cord was around the baby’s neck. If not for the sheer luck of having the aid of a passer-by, the ending could have been quite different.

And tragic.

(h/t thingie to Aaron Gardner)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2009 4:42 pm

    You left out the money quote:

    You had 9 months to sort out a lift

    I suppose you left that off so I would stop being lazy and actually write a new article? ;^)

    • snarkandboobs permalink*
      August 18, 2009 4:47 pm

      Heh heh… I was going to slip that in.. I forgot to stick it in the block quote and if anyone doesn’t click and read the whole article, they’ll miss it!

      But, yes, perhaps you’ll be inspired to stop slacking ;)

      • August 18, 2009 4:52 pm

        Working on it now…will have to wait until after work to edit and publish.

        • snarkandboobs permalink*
          August 18, 2009 4:56 pm

          OK, I just fixed the missing money quote part.

          and I can’t wait to read your take! Let me know when posted, please.

  2. Sammy permalink
    August 18, 2009 11:55 pm

    All obama will do is outsource anyways. Just think about the all the lobbyists flocking to Washington DC because of obama’s reckless over-spending of $2 TRILLION in just 6 months, which alone is increasing the National Debt by 20%.

    Politicians take people’s money and reward the large corporations, in this case companies in the health care industry, since they have the money to more effectively lobby politicians. In the end smaller businesses will be hurt.

    Politicians will only reward companies that will be in their best political interest. Honestly, when can you really trust politicians since they are basically professional liars, and being president just means you are the best liar of the time. Why not just give the money directly from the people to the companies and take politicians in government out of the equation?

    obama is going to recklessly spend TRILLIONS of tax payers’ money just to give insurance to about 25% of those who do not have it. Over 50% of people’s income go towards taxes, just imagine how many more people will afford health care insurance if their income is almost doubled because of dramatic tax cuts.

    Competition is what is needed. It lowers prices of products and services, along with developing new innovations. All of which will benefit consumers. You need to remember that monopolistic tendencies can also apply to government.

    The reason why the cost of insurance is high is because politicians in government mandate insurance companies to increase their premiums to pay for ridiculous things. In addition, politicians put up regulations so that Americans are not allowed to get insurance from another state and use the coverage in their own state. This reduces competition making it more expensive for people to get insurance. On top of that medical professionals are not allowed to freely practice their profession in any US state without taking a long and tedious licensing process. This again increases the cost of medical insurance.

    In the end, the problem with most economic issues is too much government intervention of the economy by politicians, who will only tend to do things for political self interest. Just like how obama nationalized GM to pander to its unions. Politicians can barely run government, yet people think they can run a multi-national auto manufacturing company?

    The solution is SMALLER government, LESS spending, and LOWER taxes.

    • snarkandboobs permalink*
      August 19, 2009 12:02 am

      I totally have some of the best commenters ever… Precisely, Sammy!

      In addition to what you enumerated above, here were some of my ideas for a REAL fix.

      http://snarkandboobs.wordpress.com/2009/07/23/no-tonsils-no-peace-obamas-delusional-and-dangerous-health-care-plan/

      That’s another talking point of the Left’s that I hate. They absolutely lie and say that we want NO reform. Not true; we simply don’t want a Government take-over. We have plenty of *actual* workable and pragmatic ideas.

      • August 19, 2009 10:30 am

        Well, the “you oppose our ideas == YOU HATE CHILDREN/BLACKS/THE POOR/IMMIGRANTS/&c.” meme has been the most consistent theme in leftist political debate over the past few decades. You can’t be all that surprised to see them returning to the well yet again.

        I think this tactic has long since pushed me across the Squidward Rubicon, where anything they care to throw from that point forward elicits little more than a deadpan “…whatever.” Which is probably why that little rant on Doubleplusundead made for such cathartic reading — I don’t even bother reacting anymore, much less referring to the accusers as “dickfisters”.

        (Also, me thinkee there’s an unclosed italics tag in this post somewhere.)

  3. August 19, 2009 10:22 am

    Please don’t tell me you really believe any of this anti-NHS hysteria in the Daily Mail? Have you ever read a copy of the Daily Mail? In fact, have you ever used the NHS?

  4. wonkette permalink
    November 7, 2009 8:29 am

    I don’t trust the government with a speculum either. I don’t want the government between me and my doctor. But I don’t want a stupid clerk with only a high school education between me and my doctor either; but that is what I have with my stupid for-profit HMO. I don’t mind if medicine is for profit, as long as I have the choice to find a non-profit care. But there aren’t any, because our glorious capitalism emphasizes making money off of someone else’s misery, in this case health care misery. Not too long ago, I ran a non-profit health clinic. It was great, expect for we still had gobs of paperwork. I look forward to the day when there will less paperwork, and when people will do medicine because they want to heal others, not reap gobs of money, like those healthcare CEOs who make more in one day that most of us make in one month of hard work.

  5. November 8, 2009 4:30 pm

    So, your apparent conclusions are, if I may surmise….

    1. Profit=bad, and we can convince the best and brightest to care for us if only we can separate them of the desire to provide for their families?

    2. CEOs =bad, and if we could confiscate their earnings healthcare would change and we could all have MDs working as clerks? What? Can this be what you meant?

    3. non profits=the only righteous and true business model, (except for the centrally planned government models, of course)

    I sense much hate of the profit motive in you, hmmm? yesss? mmm…. angry, you are….

    If your mission in life is to deny the HC CEOs their Mar-saydeez Beyenz, may I suggest you pay your doctor bill directly, acquire an inexpensive hospitalization policy as a supplement, and take advantage of the Health savings accounts? Why must you lay hands on MY earnings to pay the cost?

    Why is the only answer for you lefties “the government must run it? Why is the federal government the only source of virtue and goodness in the land? We are all bloodthirsty pirates, and only the government can save us from ourselves? Yawn.

    Another issue: Name for me please, a “profit free” health care system that is leading the world in treating deadly cancers, for example…

    And btw, speaking of “gobs of money”, you’ve heard of this G. Soros fellow, I presume?

    Why cannot he be taxed to pay for Americans’ health care? He’s got large sums as untapped as the ANWR, does he not? May we all enjoy the fruits of his “progressive benificence”?

    Something somehow tells me “sadly no!”

Trackbacks

  1. ‘You had 9 months to sort out a lift’ - aarongardner’s Diary - RedState

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 266 other followers